Adjudication

What is adjudication?

Adjudication is an out-of-court settlement procedure which the parties are free to agree on. The adju-dication modalities are regulated in the contract. Quite frequently, interdisciplinary expert committees are already appointed upon contract conclusion, consisting of engineers and attorneys as adjudicators, but individual adjudication may also be considered. The adjudicators will make decisions within a short period of time, which have a preliminarily binding effect for the parties involved and can be contested at a later stage, as the case may be. Thus, the most important project target can be reached: Decisions are made and the building site is set in motion again. Adjudication solves conflicts before an inextricable thicket of claims and counter-claims emerges, paralysing the projects for months or even years.

Great Britain sets a successful example 

Great Britain is the pioneer of adjudication. The adjudication procedure was legally anchored in the Housing Grants, Construction and Regeneration Act in 1996 and in the meantime is widely regarded as a success story. The number of construction disputes could be significantly reduced in the UK which resulted in cost saving for the parties and a relief of the courts.

Discussion in Germany

Adjudication is also on the rise in Germany. An increasing number of construction contracts contain respective adjudication rules. Moreover, the reform commission ‘construction of large projects’ estab-lished by the Minister of Transport expressly recommended adjudication in their final report of June 2015 as an out-of-court settlement method. We assume that adjudication will also be legally embed-ded in Germany in the next few years.   

In any event, adjudication is here to stay in the German contracts practice. In many construction contracts, clauses are included in order to solve conflicts by adjudication in the event of disputes. The advantages of adjudication are obvious: 

Advantages of Adjudication:

 

Fast, professional decisions provide clarity - project progress is secured!

Adjudikation

Was ist Adjudikation?

Die Adjudikation ist ein Verfahren außergerichtlicher Streitbeilegung, das die Vertragsparteien frei vereinbaren können. Die Art und Weise der Adjudikation wird im Vertrag geregelt. Häufig werden schon bei Vertragsschluss interdisziplinäre Expertengremien, bestehend aus Ingenieuren und Juristen als Adjudikatoren benannt, aber es kommt auch eine Einzeladjudikation in Betracht. Die Adjudikatoren treffen Entscheidungen innerhalb kurzer Frist, und zwar für die Beteiligten vorerst bindend und ggf. später anfechtbar. So wird das Wichtigste für das Projektziel erreicht: Entscheidungen werden getroffen und die Baustelle setzt sich wieder in Gang. Die Adjudikation löst die Konflikte, bevor sich hieraus ein unentwirrbares Dickicht von Ansprüchen und Gegenansprüchen entwickelt, welches das Projekt für Monate oder gar Jahre lahm legt.

Großbritannien macht es erfolgreich vor

Vorreiter der Adjudikation ist Großbritannien. Im Jahr 1996 im Housing Grants, Construction and Regeneration Act gesetzlich verankert wird das Adjudikationsverfahren inzwischen allgemein als Erfolgsmodell angesehen. Die Anzahl der Bauprozesse konnte in UK deutlich gesenkt werden, was mit einer Kostenersparnis für die Parteien und einer Entlastung der Justiz einherging.

Diskussion in Deutschland

Auch in Deutschland ist die Adjudikation auf dem Vormarsch. Immer mehr Bauverträge weisen entsprechende  Adjudikationsregeln auf. Zudem hat die vom Bundesverkehrsminister eingesetzte Reformkommission Bau von Großprojekten die Adjudikation in ihrem Endbericht vom Juni 2015 ausdrücklich als außergerichtliche Streitbeilegungsmethode empfohlen. Wir gehen davon aus, dass es in den nächsten Jahren auch zu einer gesetzlichen Verankerung der Adjudikation in Deutschland kommen wird.

In jedem Fall ist die Adjudikation in der deutschen Vertragspraxis längst ankommen. In vielen Bauverträgen werden Klauseln aufgenommen, um bei Streitfällen Konflikte über die Adjudikation zu lösen. Denn die Vorteile der Adjudikation liegen auf der Hand:

Vorteile der Adjudikation

  • Konfliktlösung schon während der Planungs- und Bauphase
  • Kürzere Verfahren
  • Geringere Kosten
  • Expertise des interdisziplinären Entscheidungsgremiums (hohe Akzeptanz des Spruchs)
  • Vorläufig bindende und  dennoch überprüfbare Entscheidungen

Schnelle, fachkundige Entscheidungen schaffen klare Verhältnisse – Projektfortschritt gesichert!